What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian?

The word ‘vegetarian’ has been around since the mid-1800s, but the word ‘vegan’ was only created in 1944.  These plant-based diets will be the hottest trend in 2018. It has taken the world a long time to wake up and see the benefits of vegetarian and vegan diets.

What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian? A vegetarian doesn’t eat animal flesh but may consume other animal-based foods like eggs and dairy. Vegans avoid all products with any connection whatsoever to animals, even honey. For some vegans their rejection of all things animal extends to hair and beauty products made with animal ingredients such as lanolin from sheep, cleaning products that have been tested on animals and shoes or clothes made with leather or wool.shutterstock_611209634 (2)

Following a vegan or vegetarian diet has many health benefits but it is important to make sure the nutrients found in animal products are replaced with quality substitutions. A nutritionally balanced vegan or vegetarian diet would include a variety of plant-based proteins, sources of iron, calcium, and vitamins B-12 and D.


Here are a few tips to keep in mind when following a vegan or vegetarian diet:

. Eat a variety of plant-based foods to ensure you are getting a variety of nutrients

. Stock a vegetarian/vegan-friendly pantry and fridge so healthy options are at hand with things like healthy cereal, beans and legumes or healthy treats to keep you satisfied.

. Eat fresh, whole foods as much as possible to reap the maximum nutritional benefits

. Have a supply of vegan, good quality snacks to satisfy your hunger in between meals like the healthy, organic granola bars by MadeGood which can also serve as vegan gluten free desserts.

childs knapsackMadeGood Oat Bars, Granola clusters or Minis and Crispy Squares are the perfect healthy treat to stick in your gym bag, purse or lunch bag for a quick snack on-the-go.  At 90 calories and only 7 grams of sugar, they fit into everyone’s lifestyle. MadeGood products are made in a dedicated peanut and nut free facility using trusted suppliers who can supply certified allergen-free ingredients. Gently processed to maintain nutrients, they are free from the eight common allergens – soy, wheat, fish& shellfish, dairy, egg, sesame and nuts. These healthy treats are also made from organic granola or rice and contain non-GMO Project Verified ingredients.  MadeGood vegan oat bars have a serving of vegetables added and they are certified as gluten free snacks.

So whether you are vegan, vegetarian or omnivore, MadeGood is the perfect, delicious snack for you!

Author: Karen Gilman is a Registered Holistic NutritionistTM and the founder of When not working with families with vegetarian children, you can find her blogging about food or in the kitchen baking up healthy treats for her family.